top of page
  • Writer's pictureStelleconfuse

Kill Hake Cult (South Africa)

Brother in Sticker Art: Kill Hake Cult

Stickers in the street from: 2004

City: Cape Town

State: South Africa



1 - Introduce your sticker art project

I have always been a fan of stickers and have a major collecting/hoarding problem, so I decided to make some of my own and put them out in the world.

I don't really have any goal in mind with my stickers besides getting up and trading with like minded people who seem to want to just get up and break the normal everyday idea of plain boring streets. Clean streets mean trouble, never trust them.

I use alot of mediums and always try to explore new ways to make art. At the moment I'm experimenting with hand printed stickers and trying alot of block printing. I usually sketch an idea and then vector them in Illustrator or Draw them onto linoleum and then hand carve them. A few select ones get done by hand always like my birds. They have a special place in my black heart as they have evolved with me over the years and I'm working towards a secret project with them that will be done when I'm done with them. Any medium will do. I'm about to start screen printing some as well. Vinyl will always be my favourite type as they just last forever and stick so well. I do love weathered hand made ones as well, ones that run for years decaying with the scenery around it.



2 - In what creative ways have you collaborated with other sticker artists?

Trading with people from all over the world has been a blessing and putting up combos which always makes for a good picture. I love the different styles of artists out there and the final result of our semi collage type pieces.



3 - Have you ever organized an event about sticker art? If not, you can write something about an event you have attended

Never organised an event and my town is pretty sleepy so I mainly focus on the international trade and have beem lucky enough to be included in some cool shows around the globe. The slap community rocks and everyone is always eager to put each other up which is really motivating to me.


4 - What are your future projects in the world of sticker art?

I have a few collaborations coming which is a first for me and I'm really excited to see the outcome of two distinct styles made into one piece. This year I'm focused on getting up in every country possible. The more obscure the better.



5 - What sticker artists do you admire or are important to you?

People like the legends everyone knows always inspire me and the ones constantly putting up and supporting new unknown artists keep me going. T-Smoke has to be the dude! Always up and always supportive. One of the first to trade with me no questions asked. Shoutout to the big man T-Smoke!


Contatcs:

Instagram: chipped2th

You can contact me for collaborations and trades. Always up to support the community that keeps me inspired and wanting to go bigger.



87 views0 comments
bottom of page