top of page
  • Writer's pictureStelleconfuse

Baby Punk (U.S.A.)

Updated: Nov 4, 2018

Brother in Sticker Art: Baby Punk (Fernando Carpaneda)

Stickers in the street from: 2013

City: New York

State: U.S.A.


1 - Introduce your sticker art project

The Sticker Art Project was created in 2013 with the introduction of the “Baby Punk” Sticker! "Baby Punk" was inspired by a photo of me holding little boy Joey. Joey is the son of my friend Martina Secondo Russo. We were watching a punk rock concert in New York and, by coincidence, Joey and I were wearing Ramones t-shirts. His mother asked that I hold him so she could take a picture of us together. At that time Joey was less than a year old. That's why the sticker is called “Baby Punk.” So when I saw our photo together, I had the idea to do a painting of Joey wearing the Ramones t-shirt. When the painting was finished I decided to make a sticker.

I print the stickers and cut off around the figure. I like how they look on the walls, it is fun, I think “Baby Punk” makes people happy. In fact the message behind my project is: Freedom and fun.


2 - In what creative ways have you collaborated with other sticker artists?

When I started to slap the stickers around and post pictures online, several other artists started asking me for stickers. So this guy in Russia, who lives in Moscow, asked me to send several stickers to him. After a while, he started sending me pictures of the sticker affixed in various places in Russia, including in front of the Russian White House. Another collaboration was with the punk band ARD. ARD put the stickers on the band instruments. I also worked with the Bispos de Paris in Sao Paulo. We enlarged the size of the stickers on paper and spread the stickers using wheat paste all over the city.



3 - Have you ever organized an event about sticker art? If not, you can write something about an event you have attended

I never organized any event with stickers, but I participated in Stencibility Street Art Festival in Estonia. “Baby Punk” was part of the SLÄP! exhibition, which was incredible.



4 - What are your future projects in the world of sticker art?

I plan on printing “Baby Punk” until the end of my life. My goal is to always print the “Baby Punk” and slap “the Baby” stickers.


5 - What sticker artists do you admire or are important to you?

I really like what you do.


Contatcs:

Website: Carpaneda

Fan Page Facebook: Baby Punk Sticker


81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page