top of page
  • Writer's pictureStelleconfuse

Dead Red (U.S.A.)

Brother in Sticker Art: Dead Red

Stickers in the street from: 2011

City: Portland (Oregon)

State: U.S.A.



1 - Introduce your sticker art project

I started doing street art in Portland Oregon around 2010, mainly wheat pasting and spray painting stencils around town. Then around 2011 I decided that I wanted to get into the sticker game and the Dingus Project was born. The image of the Dingus is actually taken from a picture I took of the last ferret that I owned, her real name was Cookie, but I called her a little dingus. There isn't really a message behind it, other than to hopefully, make a few people laugh when they see it.  Sorry, I know lots of people can carry on about what their "art" means, but I find that boring. *yawn.

To make my images, I use a shitty, but free, online photo editing program called Pixlr. I screen print all of the stickers myself with plastisol ink, dry the ink with a heat gun and cut each one by hand. I don't have any fancy techniques, machines or people to help me, but that is the way I want it to be. This is a 100% D.I.Y project and that's the way it will always stay!

I think I continue to spread the Dingus stickers because it is just an all around fun to do. I get a kick out of slapping around town and visiting other towns and trying to get up. It's also fun to have other people around the world want to collect my stickers. Hit me up, i'm down to trade!



2 - In what creative ways have you collaborated with other sticker artists?

I've collaborated with a few other artists over the years and that has always been cool. I know I'm supposed to talk more about that, but I think it would be funny to tell a different story.

When I first started doing wheat pastes I would just go over anybody, I didn't really care. That ended up in some online beef on Flicker with some local writers (hahahaha remember Flicker?). Skam ended up defending me, because he thought I was a little kid and didn't know any better, which is hilarious, because we are actually the same age. A while later I wrote "Skam thinks I'm 12" on 228 labels and put them up around town.



3 - Have you ever organized an event about sticker art? If not, you can write something about an event you have attended

I have not ever personally organized a sticker show, but I have participated in many of them in the Portland area and have sent stickers to other people's shows. But, a few years back, I did convince a local marijuana dispensary to let us crush their walls with stickers and it turned out awesome. Hesher Park, and Just One helped me with that, also Vox Romana, I think. But unfortunately, the owners took mo st of it down within a couple of months.



4 - What are your future projects in the world of sticker art?

As far as future projects go, my goal is to collaborate with more artists and to just keep what I'm doing fun. I don't plan on stopping the Dingus Project anytime soon, but at the same time, I don't want to box myself into it either. So who knows, maybe there is another project in the works. I do want to try and make a trip through California and hit it hard and also New York City. And lastly, to quote GG Allin, "I'm just trying to stay one step ahead of the law".


5 - What sticker artists do you admire or are important to you?

I admire pretty much everybody in graffiti and street art culture, but here are a few that are really cool:

Skrumpy Mad Cheap

Just One Raccoon

Hesher Park and Sneed

Vox Romana

Skam

Blood Bath

2Front

Ctzn

Anyone from the old VA Crew, lol minus Smite

Sleep

Blink

Phew and anyone else in the 2ma Crew

WAS and the Glue Squad

Ratanic

Also, I just want to give a huge shout out to anyone who rides a skateboard, no matter how good you are! To me, skateboarding is the best thing in the world and it is more artistic than any of this art world bullshit. You every see the Gonz do a kickflip? That's fucking art right there!



Contatcs:

You can find me on:

Instagram: Deadredpdx, that's about it though.

I do have a Facebook, but that shit is dead......... 


1,068 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page