top of page
  • Writer's pictureStelleconfuse

LukeDaDuke (The Netherlands)


Brother in Sticker Art: LukeDaDuke

Stickers in the street from: 2000

City: Eindhoven

State: The Netherlands



1 - Introduce your sticker art project

Around 2000, sticker art was booming in Eindhoven. Guys like Erosie, Space3, Influenza, Zime, Bomb and Lempke were bombing the city with stickers. I was impressed and wanted in! I started out with printing naked ladies on paper with a tag that said FOOB. Later on, halfway 2001, I designed a doglike logo. The dog was a symbol for leaving marks on the street. Like regular dogs, pissing against trees and lightning posts, marking their territory, I leave stickers to mark my territory. I was trained as a graphic designer and the stickers were rolling out of the printer and after I had to cut all of them by hand. Stickering felt safer than doing graffiti, quicker and easier. I replaced the name FOOB around 2007 (?) to LukeDaDuke; thought it was a better name and resembles my real name a bit more. When I found a job, I could buy screen-printed vinyl stickers or offset printed full-color stickers.



2 - In what creative ways have you collaborated with other sticker artists?

I collaborated with a whole bunch of other stickerartists. I think even, around 2005, I asked people to make their own version of my dog. I uploaded them all on fotolog, the Instagram back in the days. I joined Stickerwar around those days as well. A bunch of people pasting stickers and all using the SW-logo. A crew so to speak. I came in contact with CPSH from Paris, Robots Will Kill from N.Y.C. and Snub23 from Brighton and started trading stickers with people from all over the globe. I think my first collaboration was a poster I did with Monkeyboy in 2005. But a significant one was with Snub23 and CPSH via Stickerwar. Snub23 has been a friend since those days, and with CPSH I am still in regular contact.



3 - Have you ever organized an event about sticker art? If not, you can write something about an event you have attended

I was invited to contribute to a streetart event with the customized dogs I mentioned earlier. I organized a couple of streetart related events over the years and added some power to bigger (graffiti) events like Step In The Arena in Eindhoven, but never organized an event solely with stickers.


4 - What are your future projects in the world of sticker art?

Not too big… I just try to come up with a new design once in a while and try to visit new places, just not as frequent as 10-15 years ago. One of the latest design was one where I celebrated the birth of my daughter and the fact I am a father of 2 kids. Or a sticker as a kind of protest against the Dutch Street Art Awards, and the European Elections are coming up as well, so I might go on a poster campaign again.



5 - What sticker artists do you admire or are important to you?

I have to say Snub23. After knowing him for such a long time, he became a really close friend, even though there is distance between the U.K. and The Netherlands. He even was my best man at my wedding. He’s always demanding most of himself and tries to encourage other people to take steps forward. His energy level is incredible.


Contatcs:

Instagram: lukedaduke

Facebook: Luke Da Duke

Flickr: lukedaduke Fotolog: lukedaduke



93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page