top of page
  • Writer's pictureStelleconfuse

Lukeskold (Ireland)

Brothers in Sticker Art: Lukeskold

Stickers in the street from: 2014

City: Dublin

State: Ireland



1 - Introduce your sticker art project

Right now I am in the middle of covering the office walls with slaps, stickers and paste-ups I get in the post from other artists from around the world. Might take a while but I really enjoy putting it all together and seeing each panel come to life then stuck to the wall. In between that I’m sending out packs here, there and everywhere and putting as many stickers as possible up around Dublin City.

My character with the big teeth (I call him Jeff) was me messing around on my mac one afternoon. I wanted to create something a bit striking but also well dressed! So I drew up a James Bond like character holding a ray gun. But I wanted it to look a bit messy with a touch of horror. So I scratched X’s for the eyes and gave him an over sized mouth with broken pointy teeth. Scary to look at, but Jeff has some serious fashion sense! Then I put him behind a bright yellow background with pink and blue strips behind him to contrast the black and white character.

There is no real message behind any of my projects or stickers. The are just mini homages to things that have influenced my life. Be it cartoons I grew up with, wrestlers I loved back in the 80’s to music I listen to everyday. I just like to get my ideas down on stickers then put them up for everyone to see and enjoy or complain about.

I usually make my stickers in Photoshop, then lay them out in InDesign and go from there. I print 8 stickers per page then cut them down if needs be. It’s a pretty straight forward process. I sometimes spray stencils on larger stickers, but only if the weather is good!



2 - In what creative ways have you collaborated with other sticker artists?

I make packs with two other artists in Dublin and send then we send them out to whoever wants them! Myself, @queally5 and @jurassic_jules are a mini Dublin collective! I have also collaborated with @themug_, @youngembryo and @those_damn_kids. We just mashed our hero designs together and got some tasty results.

There is no real story behind any of the collaborations. I just really admire theses artists and wanted to do a piece that incorporated their style with mine and see what happens. Was a great way of introducing myself to these people from around the world and hero their work on ever pole in Dublin!



3 - Have you ever organized an event about sticker art? If not, you can write something about an event you have attended

I have never organised a sticker event! I have been part of a few. There was one in Dublin in 2015 "All Stuck Up" hosted by @el_viz_art. It was an amazing show and I was chuffed to be part of it. I have also sent stickers for shows in Sweden, New York and London but can’t remember when!!


4 - What are your future projects in the world of sticker art?

At the moment I am designing a range of old school WWF stickers. I am slightly obsessed with 80’s wrestlers, at the moment so am doing a minimal figures against bright colours and pink and trying to prefect my typography skills. I have also started printing designs on lotto tickets. Just another way to get my work out there.



5 - What sticker artists do you admire or are important to you?

Sticker artists I really admire would be @ el_viz_art @queally5, @those_damn_kids, @themug_, @youngembryo, @montrosszero, @artbybs and @slapheads2525 to name but a few. They all have their own amazing style and themes which I could gaze at all day!

Contatcs:

Instagram: lukeskold

Facebook: Casual


88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page