top of page
  • Writer's pictureStelleconfuse

Mémé (France)

Updated: Dec 28, 2019

Brother in Sticker Art: Mémé

Stickers in the street from: 2015

City: Rennes

State: France



1 - Introduce your sticker art project

Mémé means “grandma” in French slang. It’s a tribute to my grandmother who died a few years ago. She was like a second mother to me. My work consists of taking the opposite stance of what she was. For examples, she lived in rural area, stickers appear mainly in cities. She died before the growing power of social networks, now Instagram relays the adventures of Mémé…

The project is based on an interpretation of the logos of famous companies worldwide. The distortion integrates with a graphics software the word “Mémé” in the name of the brands… I usually print the stickers on poor and basic papers to increase the effects of aging.

My grandmother was a small farmer in a rural area. She dedicated her whole life to hard work and had no time to concern herself with the globalization of our world. She was a simple woman who was not interested in brands or logos and the false images they portray: Mémé preferred what people were rather than what they seemed to be.


2 - In what creative ways have you collaborated with other sticker artists?

Due to the constraints of her job, my grandma had no time to travel. Today, after her death, thanks to a peaceful army of ambassadors called M.A.D for MéMé Authorized Dealers (!), MéMé can travel all over the world.

Among this “Army”, there are other sticker artists which are associating my stickers in their combos. There are also many other people who aren’t sticker artists. They just want to collaborate in this project for fun, for what it represents for them, as a mirror effect of their own grandmother’s relationship. We are more than 300 today. Don’t hesitate, Join us !!!

I also like to exchange my stickers with those of others artists. So that, It’s my turn to have fun by integrating them in my pastes.



3 - Have you ever organized an event about sticker art? If not, you can write something about an event you have attended

First, I have been invited to stickers exhibitions all around the world: Amsterdam, Berlin, Malmö, Madrid, Virginia Beach, Colombus…

Then, this winter, I had the opportunity to travel in East and Central India. I wanted to associate others stickers artists to this trip and collected stickers nearby 50 guys for combos. It was a kind of “traveling” festival in a country where sticker art remains unknown.

At last, next December 2019, in collaboration with a local association called Dimension Cult, we are preparing a real Stickers Event, the first one in Rennes where nothing exists around this universe. It should take place into programming of a famous international Music Festival.


4 - What are your future projects in the world of sticker art?

In addition to this future stickers Event, I’d like to reconcile this activity around stickers with my other passion for paintings and lettering. Maybe It should be done a new kind of stickers but it’s just a reflexion at this point. Sometimes, I have the need

to renew my work both on appearance and in its forms of artistic expression. It must remain consistent with the genesis of my project based on tribute and contradictions.




5 - What sticker artists do you admire or are important to you?

So difficult to choose ! They are so many and moreover, sometimes, I discover in the streets great ant creative stickers without knowing the artist. Nevertheless, at this moment, I am particulary interested in the works of J’Existe, Merioone, Nean, Jesus t.t, Fierce, Amsterdam Stickers and… Stelleconfuse of course ;-)


Contatcs:

Email: mcwantstobe@free.fr



357 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page