top of page
  • Writer's pictureStelleconfuse

Omino71 (Italy)

Brother in Sticker Art: Omino71

Stickers in the street from: 2006

City: Roma

State: Italy



1 - Introduce your sticker art project

I think the sticker art is the most democratic form of art we know: the "little prince" of street art. The stickers is just a medium like another through which to create art (like a canvas, a sheet of paper, a wall, etc.), so I don't have a personal "specific" artistic project dedicated or a specific message related to the sticker art.

What interests me most is the ability of the sticker to interact with the people, which can feel part of an artistic installation through the apparently banal gesture of attaching a sticker of mine in a public space; for this reason I am more interested in making "sticker combo": the technique used to create works produced by overlapping different stickers). In these years I have perfected this technique that I used to paint my canvases, but also for collective projects with other artists and above all to interact with the public (“Stick My World” project).

As for the way the stickers are made, I don't have a favorite technique and I think I've tried them all: from postal labels designed with felt-tip pen to digital printing, from stencil on wallpaper to hand-printed serigraphy, every technique is good to create.



2 - In what creative ways have you collaborated with other sticker artists?

Yes, with the "Stick My World" project I was lucky enough to work with many artists from all over the world, especially in the 2006-2010 period.



3 - Have you ever organized an event about sticker art? If not, you can write something about an event you have attended

"Stick My World" was an international combo sticker project, an experiment of collective creativity born in 2006 on Flickr pages. From 2008 to 2010 "Stick My World" was an annual appointment at the "Circolo degli Artisti" in Rome: it was a collective performance that involves artists and the public, working together to cover an ever larger object with thousands of stickers collected in every corner of the planet. We started with my Vespa, then a surfboard, a Fiat Panda car, a camper and a 3 meter high Keith Haring statue. Every year we have transformed an object of common use into a unique work of art, fruit of the contribution of many who, for different reasons, participated in this experience: each time different and therefore unrepeatable.

This project is also mentioned in the Treccani encyclopedia under "sticker art" so I think it is one of the few cases of "historicization" of a sticker art event: www.treccani.it/enciclopedia/sticker-art/

4 - What are your future projects in the world of sticker art?

I would like to relaunch "Stick My World" with style, but we need something really big... by the way do you know someone who has a train?



5 - What sticker artists do you admire or are important to you?

The influence of Shepard Fairey is undeniable for anyone who loves sticker art, but there are several Italian forerunners who inspired me: from Guglielmo Achille Cavellini (aka GAC), to Pino Boresta and the Roman TTS Crew.


Contatc:

Instagram: omino71

Facebook: Omino71

and then Just look for “Omino71” on Twitter, Google, Gmail, Blogger, etc.



232 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page