top of page
  • Writer's pictureStelleconfuse

Yarn Vandalette (Germany)

Updated: Oct 10, 2018

Sisters in Sticker Art: Yarn Vandalette

Stickers in the street from: ...only from 2017 (Yarn Bombing since 2013)

City: Eltville am Rhein

State: Germany



1 - Introduce your sticker art project

I love street art and graffiti for a long time, I grew up on  Hip Hop  when it was still new, Old school it is called today ;-), but I never made street art on my own. Then I discovered yarn bombing a couple of years ago. I did several pieces myself but also took part in a huge bridge bombing, where more than 20 people where involved. The problem is: Yarn bombing takes a lot of time and preparation, you can´t spread it quick and easy. So I looked for something, that I could share in an easier way. I took my "sign or signature", the Vandal girl, and made a series of stickers out of it. I was asked for trades and so my little girl began to travel the world. She was up in Amsterdam, Paris, Lisbao, Canada, Chicago, New York, San Francisco, Japan and several other places, even at the Upfest in Bristol 2017. The journey continues!  

There is no real message behind my stickers, to be honest. I just want to make people smile. To see a crochet sticker face somewhere in the city is rather unexpected and people do pause to look at it. If this brings different people together, different ages, backgrounds , languages, men or women, than this is great. Just respect each other, whoever you are - and expect the unexpected.... like yarn that is not used for socks or shawls but for Street Art! Peace, love, unity and having fun.

I crochet and sew. I put them on double faced tape. Recently I began to put some even smaller pieces on "Hello My Name Is" stickers or postal labels. That works perfect as well.  The downside side is that the crochet process takes much longer than drawing, so I can never have as many stickers out there as "regular" sticker artists.



2 - In what creative ways have you collaborated with other sticker artists?

When asked for a trade, I always try to make at least one little piece that has something to do with the art of the person I traded with. I really love to do that. I made interesting pieces that way. Having like a real collab would be also great, I would love to make a larger piece that combines crochet and sticker or even graffiti.  That would be a dream come true.

I did collab with fiber graffiti Artist FoodBabySoul, though. She added some of my slaps into her beautiful larger pieces.



3 - Have you ever organized an event about sticker art? If not, you can write something about an event you have attended

No, not yet.  I thought about going to Berlin for "Berlin klebt" last year, but we were already in our summer vacation when it was on. I hope that I can go to an event soon. I would love to go to one and make crochet sticker arts with kids. Just to show them that handcraft is not only boring, but it can be fresh  and up to date.

I have written the Yarn Bombing section for the catalog of the "Urban Art 40 Grad Festival 2015" which is actually a "How to do Street Art" for kids. Loved to do that. I would really like to show my pieces during an event.


4 - What are your future projects in the world of sticker art?

First of all, I hope to send the Vandal Girl even further around the world. Then, I will continue to create new, different types of stickers, too. I will try to put the many ideas I have into reality. I hope to stay in touch and connect further with all the great artists I virtually met through sticker trades so far.



5 - What sticker artists do you admire or are important to you?

Aah, there are many, who I admire and who inspire me. Probably to many to mention. There are quite a few unbelievable creative people out there. Different styles and unique ideas. Keep on! Big thumbs up for The White Books project and your art as well.


Contatcs:

Facebook: Yarn Vandalette

Instagram: yarn_vandalette



53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page