top of page
  • Writer's pictureStelleconfuse

Zoto (Italy)


Brother in Sticker Art: Zoto

Stickers in the street from: 2013

City: Rome

State: Italy



1 - Introduce your sticker art project

The need to create stickers comes directly from my past and present as a writer and born from the desire to reproduce my tag in as many places as possible. From the beginning I drew on paper what has become my logo, the message conveyed has always been in essence "I was here".

I have always created my stickers by hand, one by one patiently, thus creating a sort of uniqueness of each piece. It must be said that when I started in my provincial town I was the first and at the beginning it was a real challenge, the stickers did not last long paste and were not appreciated. I had to sweat and have perseverance for more than 10 years to make understand that I did not give up and cover the whole city. With the experience I managed to find "the right formula", for both markers and paper, to ensure that lasted even years, aware that if you make stickers by hand last less forcing you to be very patient to be present in the streets.



2 - In what creative ways have you collaborated with other sticker artists?

It was a pleasure to work with Standard 574. In 2016 we met and from there was born my first and only, for the moment, collaboration. It has been a real honor, given the greater vision and visibility.



3 - Have you ever organized an event about sticker art? If not, you can write something about an event you have attended

I have never organized events on sticker art, but I took part in the World Will Wall in Rome and I sent my sticker packs to various calls in Italy. Moreover, for a few years I trade stickers with other artists.



4 - What are your future projects in the world of sticker art?

My ideas are always in turmoil... I would not reveal too much, but you will soon be able to hear about this!



5 - What sticker artists do you admire or are important to you?

As written above I would say immediately Standard 574 and the influence and the appeal from the Roman scene in the early 2000, remember Curt "Sticker Headz", JBrock, Pino Boresta, Chilo and many others...

I always find it difficult to make some lists because the influences come indirectly from many things and even the new scene is full of people who "push a lot". Looking abroad, however, I do not deny being impressed by BNE but there are many sticker artists that I admire and that have really interesting projects.

Contatcs:

Email: zotoperfectjob@msn.com

Instagram: zotone

Facebook: Zoto



Testo in italiano


1 – Introduci il tuo progetto di sticker art

La necessità di creare sticker deriva direttamente dal mio passato e presente da writer, nasce dal desiderio di riprodurre la mia flop in più posti possibili. Fin dal principio ho portato su carta quello che a tutti gli effetti è diventato il mio logo. Il messaggio veicolato è sempre stato in sostanza "I was here". Ho sempre creato i miei adesivi a mano, uno per uno con pazienza, creando così una sorta di unicità di ogni singolo pezzo. C'è da dire che quando ho iniziato nella mia città di provincia sono stato il primo e all'inizio è stata una vera sfida, gli adesivi duravano poco e non erano apprezzati, ho dovuto sudare ed avere costanza per più di 10 anni per far capire che che non mollavo e ricoprire tutta la città. Solo con l'esperienza sono riuscito a trovare "la giusta formula" sia per marker e carta per far sì che durassero anche anni, consapevole comunque che se fai sticker a mano durano di meno costringendoti ad una pazienza unica per essere presenti nelle strade. 


2 – Ai collaborato in qualche modo creative con altri artisti su un progetto che riguarda la sticker art?

E' è stato un piacere collaborare con Standard 574. Nel 2016 ci siamo conosciuti e da lì è nata la mia prima e unica, per il momento, collaborazione, un vero e proprio onore visto la maggior visione e visibilità.


3 - Hai mai organizzato un evento sulla sticker art? Se no, scrivi qualcosa su un evento a cui hai partecipato

Personalmente non ho mai organizzato eventi sulla sticker art, ma ho partecipato al World Wild Wall a Roma e risposto alle varie call sparse per l'Italia e da qualche anno scambio sticker con altri artisti.


4 - Hai qualche progetto futuro legato alla sticker art?

Le mie idee sono sempre in fermento... Non vorrei svelare troppo ma a breve potrete avere notizie riguardo a questo!


5 - Ci sono sticker artist che ammiri o ritieni importanti per te?

Certo che si, come scritto sopra direi subito Standard 574 e l'influenza e fascino maggiore che ho subito dalla scena romana nei primi anni 2000 ricordo Curt "Sticker Headz", JBrock, Pino Boresta, Chilo e tanti altri. Mi risulta sempre difficile fare delle liste perché le influenze arrivano indirettamente da tante cose ed anche la "nuova scena" è piena di persone che spingo tantissimo. Guardando all'estero invece non nego d'essere stato colpito da BNE, ma ci sono tanti sticker artist che ammiro e che hanno dei progetti davvero interessanti.

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page